Databases

Do you need to learn about healthcare options, how to fill out the FAFSA, or just find a good book? Scroll through the page or click on the links below to skip to the types of databases you would like to explore.We also provide access to several homework resources in our Kid’s Zone.


Arts & Literature

Books & Authors Books and Authors is a great site for browsing for old and new titles as well as exploring the series and individual works of authors.
Fantastic Fiction Fantastic Fiction contains thousands of records regarding fiction books and their authors. Each book page displays author, plot, and edition information as well as read-alikes.
Internet Movie Database IMDb, the Internet Movie Database, contains detailed records on thousands actors, crew members, directors, writers, movies, tv shows, and video gams. Each record has biographical/bibliographical information, trivia, quotes, discussion boards, and more.
New York Times Bestsellers NY Times Bestsellers is one of the most respected lists of recommended new books in the world.

Genealogy

Access Genealogy AccessGenealogy.com is a free website that offers a unique approach to genealogical research by connecting users with rarer records such as military letters, Native American records, and transcribed cemetery records.
Family Tree Searcher Family Tree Searcher uses interactive, quiz-like questions to help users develop customized genealogical research plans.
National Genealogical National Genealogical Society is a website dedicated to promoting genealogical research skills and passion for tracking one’s family history. This society provides educational programs, publishes several publications in the field of genealogy, and creates networking opportunities for its members.
Tennessee State Library & Archives Tennessee State Records and Archives is a state archive that preserves books and other records of historical and research value.
U.S. National Archives U.S. National Archives is provided by the National Archives and Records Administration. The U.S. National Archives gives users access to census information, immigration records, military records, and bankruptcy records. Additionally, the website offers articles and research tips about historical researching techniques.
U.S. Gen Web Project USGenWeb Project allows you to go directly to each state’s GenWeb website to locate free resources about the specific community that you are interested in researching.
West TN Heritage Study Center West Tennessee Heritage Study Center is operated by the University of Tennessee at Martin (UTM). This on-campus center provides free, in-person access to researchers whenever the Paul Meek Library at UTM is open.

Government

Free Application for Federal Student Aid FAFSA, the Free Application for Federal Student Aid, is a scholarship application that all students must fill out their senior year of high school and every subsequent year of college in order to qualify for federal student aid.
TN Department of Education Tennessee Department of Education provides in-depth information for students, families, teachers, and administrators about a wide range of educational topics, including: Core Concept Standards, school report cards, services for students in pre-K through High School and beyond, Special Education services, and educator licensure and employment.
U.S. Department of education U.S. Department of Education‘s website contains information on student loans, grants, laws, and education data. Users can also find information on the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) and locating post-secondary schools.

Health & Wellness

Medline Plus Medline Plus is a free website providing consumer health information for patients, families, and healthcare providers.
TN Department of Education Tennessee Department of Health is Dyer County’s link to a variety of resources relevant for residents and visitors of Tennessee. The website offers information about obtaining vital records, immunization information, and tips to improve health and wellness.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services U.S. Department of Health & Human Services‘s website contains information on the department’s programs and services, grants and contracts to aid people in paying for healthcare, and health laws and regulations instituted by government agencies.

Reference

Bartleby Bartleby contains searchable digitized versions of classic books including Bartlett’s Familiar Quotations, Strunk’s The Elements of Style, the King James Bible, and more.
Encyclopedia Brittanica Encyclopedia Britannica is now located online! Search through this site for free, full-text encyclopedia entries by the most respected encyclopedia in the world.
Merriam Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus Merriam Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus is an extensive, respected database containing definitions and thesaurus entries primarily for the English language.
Oxford Reference Oxford Reference contains digitized entries from the Oxford University Press’ reference works covering a wide range of topics such as archaeology, history, law, linguistics, health and medicine, music, science and technology, and more.

*NOTE:  The appearance of external links on this Web site does not constitute endorsement by the McIver’s Grant Public Library of external Web sites or the information, products or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities, McIver’s Grant Public Library does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations. These links are provided consistent with the stated McIver’s Grant Public Library services provided to the community. All links contained below will open in a new browsing window.